Launching The Accessible Music Notation Project

My name is Marc Sabatella, and I am a jazz pianist, composer, and educator based in Denver, Colorado, USA. I became interested in accessibility issues when a blind student took my Jazz Theory & Aural Skills class a few years ago and we had to find ways of communicating in notated music. I was shocked to discover there were so few tools available suitable for our purposes. Over the course of the year we managed to pull together some existing utilities, plus I wrote some of my own, and we came up with a system that worked well enough for us. But it was very much blazing our own trail, and it’s still not a well-marked one. My hope now is to expand on this earlier work and develop a suite of tools to solve the various problems that come up when a blind student needs to read and write notated music.

Leave a Reply

